The Board of Trustees is responsible for the general direction and policy for the business of First Church and the operation of all three campuses. For Board Minutes, please see the Board Meetings page.

The Board is comprised of Trustees who are elected by the members of the church at the annual meeting in May or June. We have nine Trustees serving staggered three-year terms. Members of the Board must represent all three campuses, and they hold Board Linkage sessions throughout the year. Non-voting members include the Secretary and the Treasurer.

The Board meets monthly on the third Wednesday at 7:00 p.m. in the Fireside Room at the Museum District campus. Meetings are open to anyone in the First Church community who may wish to attend and watch the proceedings. The Board allocates 10 minutes at the beginning of their meetings to hear congregational comments. If you wish to speak, please contact the Board President.

Contact the Board at

2018-19 Board Members

Bob Miller, President

Carolyn Leap, Vice President

Jennifer Sorrells, Past President and Board Clerk

Rev. Dr. Colin Bossen, ex-officio

Evan Michaelides, Treasurer

Jan Elias, Thoreau Campus

Geoff Sanders, Tapestry Campus

Kelly Brown, At-large

Leona Harrison, At-large

Betty Johnson, At-large

Frances Johnson, At-large